Taggart, James Gordon - 1976
Tait, Donald James - 2002
Teichrob, Carol - 2012
Thiessen, Isaac - 2002
Thiesson, Stuart Allan - 2007
Thomas, Robert Davidson - 1980
Thompson, Fred - 1984
Thompson, Douglas - 1984
Thomson, Wallace Alexander - 1978
Thomson, Leonard Baden - 1973
Thomson, Euphemia Jane - 1989
Trew, Beatrice Janet - 1978
Turner, Edward Kerr - 1995

PortraitEdward Kerr Turner

Ted Turner, farm leader and former Saskatchewan Wheat Pool president, was born April 6, 1927, on the family farm near Maymont. He obtained his schooling at Maymont and then went on to graduate from the University of Saskatchewan School of Agriculture in 1948.

When he returned to the farm he became active in local organizations such as the Maymont Agricultural Society and the Young Farmers Club. He was elected to the Pool committee in 1951 and became a district delegate in 1957. He was elected director in 1960, first vice-president in 1966 and became president of Saskatchewan Wheat Pool in 1969, a position he held until 1987.

During his 18 years as president he fought tenaciously for farm programs more relevant to the needs of farmers. He met with farmers on their home turf and carried their concerns to governments and to other farm groups provincially, nationally and internationally. He travelled the world on trade missions and participated in agricultural and trade-related conferences. He consulted regularly with key officials in Ottawa on agricultural policy.

He served on the Conference Board of Canada and as chairman of Canadaís International Trade Advisory Committee (ITAC) Task Force on Agriculture. He was advisor to the Canadian government delegation at International Wheat Agreement negotiations in Geneva in 1971 and 1978. Ted represented Canadian farmers at conferences of the International Federation of Agricultural Producers on six occasions. He served on the advisory committee to the Canadian Wheat Board (1969-1982). He was on the advisory committee to the Economic Council of Canada.

Ted Turner headed the Pool at a time when there was a dramatic reduction in rail lines and therefore a parallel reduction in country elevators. Large centralized elevators were built and the organization launched into value-added manufacture of agricultural products. At times unpopular decisions had to be made as a result of the changing scope of Prairie agriculture. He fought to maintain a basic structure of rail lines to serve Prairie grain farmers and to preserve the powers of the Canadian Wheat Board.

He was co-chairman of the successful drive to raise funds for the Agriculture building at the University of Saskatchewan. He was chairman of the Saskatchewan committee, Duke of Edinburghís Fifth Commonwealth Study Conference 1980 and vice-chairman of the Saskatchewan drive for funds to build the Diefenbaker Centre in Saskatoon.

When he retired as president of the Pool he served two years as executive director of Prairie Pools inc. In 1989 Ted Turner was elected Chancellor of the University of Saskatchewan. His career was recognized nationally in 1990 when he was named a Member of the Order of Canada. For his contributions to agriculture and the university he was awarded an honorary doctor of laws degree from the University of Saskatchewan. He received an honorary life membership in the Agricultural Institute of Canada. He was awarded the Saskatchewan Co-operative Order of Merit.

"Sponsored for the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame, 1995
by Saskatchewan Wheat Pool"


The information contained in this website is the property of the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame.
When using information from the website please acknowledge the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame as the information source.

© 2016 Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame