Taggart, James Gordon - 1976
Tait, Donald James - 2002
Teichrob, Carol - 2012
Thiessen, Isaac - 2002
Thiesson, Stuart Allan - 2007
Thomas, Robert Davidson - 1980
Thompson, Fred - 1984
Thompson, Douglas - 1984
Thomson, Wallace Alexander - 1978
Thomson, Leonard Baden - 1973
Thomson, Euphemia Jane - 1989
Trew, Beatrice Janet - 1978
Turner, Edward Kerr - 1995

PortraitDonald James Tait

Don Tait, farmer and a founding father of Saskatchewan 's pulse crop industry, was born at Tuberose on May 13, 1936 . He obtained his public and high school education at Sanctuary, followed by a diploma from the University of Saskatchewan School of Agriculture in 1955.

He was one of the early lentil growers in Saskatchewan , planting his first crop in 1971 and has grown lentils every year since. He worked hard, and at considerable personal expense, to organize the Saskatchewan Pulse Growers Association and, later, the Saskatchewan Pulse Crop Development Board. He was a founding director and served a term as chairman on each of these organizations. He was also a founding director and served a term as chairman of the Western Canada Pulse Growers. He represented the WCPG on the Prairie Registration and Recommending Committee for a number of years.

Since its inception in 1984 the association has been responsible for the investment of $16.5 million in research, market development and extension for the pulse industry. As a result, the pulse industry has grown from about 190,000 acres seeded per year to 4.8 million acres in 2002 of peas, lentils, beans and chickpeas.

In 1996 Don Tait was recognized with the Pulse Promoter of the Year award provided by Cyanamid. When the Canada-Saskatchewan Agri-Food Innovation Fund was established in 1995 Don Tait was named one of the producer representatives on the board. The AFIF aims to support development of emerging primary and value-added agriculture sectors and to facilitate transition to a more market-driven economy for the agri-food industry.

Currently, in this year of induction into the Agricultural Hall of Fame, Don is a producer member of the Standards Committee of the Canadian Grain Commission, a member of the Variety Tendering Committee, Crop Development Centre, member of the advisory committee to the Pulse Chair, Crop Development Centre, University of Saskatchewan and a board member of the Saskatchewan Agri-Food Council.

For his contributions to Saskatchewan agriculture, in 2002 Don was presented with an honorary life membership in the Saskatchewan Institute of Agrologists.

Also active in his community, Don served on the Wheatland Regional Library board over the past 11 years and as chairman since 1995. He served a term as chairman of the Elrose Union Hospital board, on the executive of the Elrose Lions Club and on the executive of the Saskatchewan Liberal Party.

Sponsored for the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame 2002
by the Saskatchewan Pulse Growers Association


The information contained in this website is the property of the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame.
When using information from the website please acknowledge the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame as the information source.

© 2016 Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame