MacEwan, John Walter Grant - 1991
MacFarlane, John Duncan -1979
MacKay, Angus - 1973
MacKay, Murdoch - 1994
Maharg, John Archibald - 1977
Mainil, Arthur Armond (Art) - 2017
Martynse, Henry - 2005
McArthur, Neil - 1985
McConnell, Lillian Vigrass - 2001
McGillivray, Murray Ross - 2015
McKenzie, Roy - 1994
McKercher, Robert (Bob) - 2017
McMillan, Ivan - 1996
McNamee, Louis P. - 1972
McNaughton, Violet - 1972
McPhail, Hugh Duncan - 1999
McPhail, Alexander James - 1972
McRorie, Howard Douglas - 1995
Melville-Ness, Thomas Robertson - 1979
Mendel, Fred S. - 1990
Miller, William - 1975
Mitchell, Charles Stuart - 1986
Mitchell, John - 1973
Montgomery, Dale Kenneth - 2014
Morken, W.G. "Bud" - 1997
Morrall, Robin - 2016
Morris, George Henry - 1977
Moss, Harold Charles - 1991
Mossing, Oscar Johan - 2006
Motherwell, William Richard - 1972

Portrait Charles Stuart Mitchell

Charles Mitchell, farmer, leader in rural municipal affairs and co-operator, was born in Preeceville April 5, 1909. He attended public and high schools at Preeceville and at an early age became involved in community activities.

He was one of the organizers of the Preeceville Union Hospital in 1937, and served on its board for many years. He served on the local school board and for three years was chairman of the Sturgis School Unit Board.

He was elected reeve of the Rural Municipality of Preeceville No. 334 in 1957 and held that position for 25 years. In 1959 he was elected to the executive of the Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities. After two years as SARM vice-president, he commenced a three-year term as president in 1974.

His leadership role in SARM led to a wide range of other commitments. He was a member of the Municipal Employees Superannuation Commission, of the board of examiners for the RM administrators and of the Grid Road Surfacing Commission. He also served on the Saskatchewan Farm Ownership Board, the Saskatchewan Advisory Council on Transportation and the Public Advisory Committee on Drainage and Flood Control. He was a director of the Saskatchewan Power Corporation and a member of the advisory board for the Department of Social Services.

He served as SARM delegate to the Saskatchewan Federation of Agri-culture for more than 20 years, seven as vice-president. He also was on the board and executive of the Canadian Federation of Agriculture. He became actively involved in Saskatchewanís home care program in 1981 and two years later served as president of the Saskatchewan Home Care Association.

Charlie Mitchell was a member of the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool for more than 40 years and was active in other co-operatives. When the Sturgis Co-operative Farm was formed in 1944, he was the first president. This farm served as a model for other such co-operatives in North America.

In 1979 he was awarded the Order of Canada and in 1983 he received an honorary doctor of laws degree from the University of Saskatchewan.

"Nominated for the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame 1986
by the Rural Municipality of Preeceville No. 334, and the
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities."



The information contained in this website is the property of the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame.
When using information from the website please acknowledge the Saskatchewan Agriculture Hall of Fame as the information source.

© 2016 Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame